231 Front Street, Lahaina, HI 96761 info@givingpress.com 808.123.4567

Finding PEACE

Searching for peace today can be a tough thing to do.  We look for quiet, serene places to visit or we may even travel far distances to find a place that will give us that feeling of calm and serenity.

In reality, we don’t have to travel far or find special exercises and special foods.  We just have to re-focus our minds on Jesus and his gifts.

Here are 5 steps to finding true and lasting PEACE.  Feel free to print this out and hang it on your wall or just fold it and keep it in your favorite book, or in your purse.


Copy of P

Holy Family Catholic Church – Palm Sunday and Easter Sunday Schedule


Palm Sunday Mass

  • Saturday, April 13, Vigil Mass at 5:00 PM

  • Sunday, April 14, 8:30 AM and 10:00 AM

Mass of the Last Supper   shutterstock_46089358

  • Thursday, April 18, 6:30 PM

  • Eucharistic Adoration beginning at 8:00 PM

shutterstock_606712211   Good Friday Services

  • Stations of the Cross, Friday, April 19 at 3:00 PM

  • Good Friday  Service begins at 5:30 PM

Easter Services   shutterstock_555928750.jpg

•  Easter Vigil,  Saturday, April 20 at 8:00 PM

  • Easter Sunday Services, April 21

  • 8:30 AM (Español)

  • 10:00 AM (English)

 Our children’s Easter Egg Hunt

begins after the 10:00 AM Masseggs-34582_1280

40 Days of Lent with Our Lady of Guadalupe

Our Lady of Guadalupe brings joy, hope and consolation to everyone who draws closer to her. During Lent let’s ask God to help us be more like His mother.
We challenge you to take the following steps each day during Lent.

Read More

Schedule for Ash Wednesday

March 6, 2019, is Ash Wednesday and marks the first day of Lent. Here at Holy Family Catholic Church, we will offer Mass and distribute ashes as follows:

7:30 am – Mass followed by ash distribution

12 noon – Ashes will be distributed (no Mass)

6:00 pm – Mass followed by ash distribution

The 12 Days of Christmas

The 12 Days of Christmas start on Christmas Day and last until the evening of the 5th January – also known as Twelfth Night. The 12 Days have been celebrated in Europe since before the middle ages and were a time of celebration. 

12 Days have been celebrated in Europe since before the middle ages and were a time of celebration. 

The 12 Days each traditionally celebrate a feast day for a saint and/or have different celebrations:

  • Day 1 (25th December): Christmas Day – celebrating the Birth of Jesus
  • Day 2 (26th December also known as Boxing Day): St Stephen’s Day. He was the first Christian martyr (someone who dies for their faith). It’s also the day when the Christmas Carol ‘Good King Wenceslas‘ takes place.
  • Day 3 (27th December): St John the Apostle (One of Jesus’s Disciples and friends)
  • Day 4 (28th December): The Feast of the Holy Innocents – when people remember the baby boys which King Herod killed when he was trying to find and kill the Baby Jesus.
  • Day 5 (29th December): St Thomas Becket. He was Archbishop of Canterbury in the 12th century and was murdered on 29th December 1170 for challenging the King’s authority over the Church.
  • Day 6 (30th December): St Egwin of Worcester.
  • Day 7 (31st December): New Year’s Eve (known as Hogmanay in Scotland). Pope Sylvester I is traditionally celebrated on this day. He was one of the earliest popes (in the 4th Century). In many central and eastern European countries (including Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland and Slovenia) New Year’s Eve is still sometimes called ‘Silvester’. In the UK, New Year’s Eve was a traditional day for ‘games’ and sporting competitions. Archery was a very popular sport and during the middle ages it was the law that it had to be practised by all men between ages 17-60 on Sunday after Church! This was so the King had lots of very good archers ready in case he need to go to war!
  • Day 8 (1st January): 1st January – Mary, the Mother of Jesus
  • Day 9 (2nd January): St. Basil the Great and St. Gregory Nazianzen, two important 4th century Christians.
  • Day 10 (3rd January): Feast of the Holy Name of Jesus. This remembers when Jesus was officially ‘named’ in the Jewish Temple. It’s celebrated by different churches on a wide number of different dates!
  • Day 11 (4th January): St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, the first American saint, who lived in the 18th and 19th centuries. In the past it also celebrated the feast of Saint Simon Stylites (who lives on a small platform on the top of a pillar for 37 years!).
  • Day 12 (5th January also known as Epiphany Eve): St. John Neumann who was the first Bishop in American. He lived in the 19th century.

Christmas and New Year Mass Schedule

42682760-37F0-421D-958E-D191B6953A28Our Christmas Mass and New Year

Mass Schedule

December 24

5:00 pm Vigil Mass

Christmas Day

7:30 am (Spanish)

10:00 am (English)

New Years Day

Day of Obligation

10:00 am

Feast of the Immaculate Conception

Saturday, December 8 is the Feast of the Immaculate Conception.

Mass at Holy Family begins at 10:00 am

The Meaning of Advent Candles

In our Christian tradition, the wreath holds the four Advent candles.

The candles represent Jesus coming as the light in darkness.

One candle is lit each Sunday until all four candles are lit, and sometimes a fifth candle is lit on Christmas. Read More

Helping Those in Need

We have families within our parish and community
who need our help
Holy Family is commited to helping those who are in need, as Jesus has asked us to do.
All items may be brought to the church before or after all Masses; or you can bring items to the Rectory located right across from the church.

Read More

The Liturgical Colors–What Do They Mean?

What do the different colors used by the priest signify?

As outlined by the Church, different colors represent different liturgical seasons. Since around the sixth century, the primary liturgical colors have been greenwhitepurplered and black. Read More